LSAT Addendum Needed? 162 -168-180

General admissions strategy questions, what are my chances, discussion of specific application materials like financial aid and scholarships.
cousinvinny13

LSAT Addendum Needed? 162 -168-180

Post by cousinvinny13 » Sun Jul 12, 2020 2:12 pm

I am weighing the pros and cons of submitting an addendum to my law school applications "explaining" my LSAT scores, which range 18 points(162-168-180) over a three-year period. Some advisors have recommended the addendum, but the more I talk to them, the more it seems that the risks outweigh the benefits, but I want a wider opinion.

Context: I first took the LSAT three years ago. I did not half-ass it. I studied hard, but my stumbling blocks were, and always have been, test anxiety and the time crunch. I got a 162. It didn't make sense for me to apply with that score when I knew I could do better. I put law school to the side and focused my attention on using the degrees/tools that I already have to work on public interest issues that I care about. I worked on Medicaid and criminal justice issues for the next three years. These experiences increased by appetite to study law; I want the "keys to the courthouse" so I can do impact litigation one day. Furthermore, working alongside many lawyers over the last three years taught me to think like a lawyer, which may have helped out with the LSAT.

My next two scores are from the last few months. I studied my ass off, and knew from practice tests that I was capable of the high 170s. The first re-take, I got a 168. I knew I could do better. I focused on my confidence and timing with the help of a tutor. A few months later, I got the 180.

Frankly, I just think the LSAT is a matter of practice makes perfect (literally). Simple as that. But I worry that anything I say could be spun to be interpreted as not taking my LSAT prep seriously the first time around or somehow gaming the system. Thoughts?

Nony

Re: LSAT Addendum Needed? 162 -168-180