Columbia undergrad aiming for Columbia Law?

General admissions strategy questions, what are my chances, discussion of specific application materials like financial aid and scholarships.
toisondor

Columbia undergrad aiming for Columbia Law?

Post by toisondor » Tue Apr 07, 2020 8:51 pm

Hi all! Wanted to ask advice as a recent Columbia grad (class of 2019) aiming to apply ED to Columbia Law in the fall. I graduated Phi Beta Kappa, Magna Cum Laude with a 3.9 GPA. Been working at a major broadcast company since graduation. Haven't taken LSAT yet but planning to do so late summer/early fall (depending on when social distancing is over...)

Is there anyone here who knows how CLS views Columbia undergrads? I've heard rumors from friends that as long as I get a decent LSAT score I should be in, but I don't know how true that is and don't want to overestimate my chances. I'd like to stay in the city for law school, ideally.

Would appreciate any insight, especially if you know anyone who's taken this path.

Thanks everyone!

UVA2B

Re: Columbia undergrad aiming for Columbia Law?

Post by UVA2B » Tue Apr 07, 2020 9:30 pm

1. It is true that with a good LSAT, you’ll likely be in at CLS. Think 170-172 range to be safe, but a bit lower may suffice since you have a good gpa from a good UG. Columbia may have some affinity for their own UGs, but that’s at best a tie breaker, and even then, I wouldn’t rely on it being a tiebreaker because it’s likely a correlation rather than a causation that CLS might have a larger number of Columbia UGs.