How does one actually make partner?

codeman92190

How does one actually make partner?

Post by codeman92190 » Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:13 am

The title says it all. I was a paralegal at a V20 firm in NYC. The prevailing wisdom seemed to be that incoming Associates shouldn't even think about making partner. Or at least that it was so rare that they shouldn't make it their Plan A.

This seemed odd, if only because I was surrounded by T6 superstars who were constantly grinding away. If they weren't going to make partner, then who was?

So I guess that is the big question: who actually ends up making partner? What are the things that actually set someone apart at V20 firm (or even further down)? Is sticking it out, constantly making or surpassing your 2000 billable hours target, and making meaningful contributions to big cases not enough? What else goes into it? And, given that the biggest factor is probably attrition or burnout, how many people that actually WANT to be a partner (and not just when they show up) end up not getting it?

Toni

Re: How does one actually make partner?

Post by Toni » Sat Apr 28, 2018 12:17 pm

As you know, when you join or lateral into a firm they immediately set you up on their partner track. It’s up to you to check all the boxes....do great work, meet/exceed billables, work well with others (especially the group head) and be highly valued by the clients.

Somewhat surprising is that not everyone cares to make partner. If not for the lure of a hefty seven-figure income this position is not everyone’s idea of a dream job (actually, just the opposite). For those who want the position but fall short, the reasons obviously vary from firm politics to a [sincere] belief that your lawyering is ordinary, no book, and in the end, no one is strongly advocating for you. To answer your question, great lawyering, book, and advocates.

Johannes

Post by Johannes » Sat Apr 28, 2018 12:23 pm

codeman92190 wrote:
Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:13 am