PSA: Do Not Pay Full Price for a Bar Course (NEGOTIATE!)

Pleasy E

PSA: Do Not Pay Full Price for a Bar Course (NEGOTIATE!)

Post by Pleasy E » Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:41 pm

Around this time all the bar prep companies are going to start (lol let's be real they started during 1L) hounding all you unsuspecting 3Ls offering you "discounts" on their courses.

Do not get locked into the 3k or even 2k prices that they are offering right now. Hold out until the last minute and negotiate a lower price. Talk to various reps and get their prices and then play them off each other. Bar prep does NOT need to cost 4k.

Themis will go as low as $1200. I know people who got Barbri for $1400. Kaplan doesn't seem to have a floor because people were getting that course for like $900*

HTH!

*I graduated 2015 so these are the numbers from my experience/that year, those may have changed, but I PROMISE what hasn’t changed is that you can always negotiate a lower price. Please don’t listen to anyone who tells you you need to pay full price for a bar course because the “price will just keep going up” (cough Barbri reps cough).

Pleasy E

Re: PSA: Do Not Pay Full Price for a Bar Course (NEGOTIATE!)

Post by Pleasy E » Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:43 pm

ALSO: this is not the thread to plug your amazing self-study techniques and advocate self-studying. I didn’t do that and I’m not advocating that (though it may work for some!), make your own thread if you want to talk about that.

bikeflip

Post by bikeflip » Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:32 pm

Is this a good place to plug Themis and their public interest scholarship?

https://s3.amazonaws.com/mythemis-conte ... n_2018.pdf

Granted it’s been a long ass time since I took DAT THEMIS, but at $1,400 or so it’s more reasonable and might provide leverage for another company to go even lower.

Pleasy E

Post by Pleasy E » Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:55 pm

bikeflip wrote:
Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:32 pm
Is this a good place to plug Themis and their public interest scholarship?